It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:08 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: HI everyone, I have a feeling im no longer alone
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:45 pm 

HI all,

I’m a newbie on this forum. It was recommended by my Consultant. I’ve been suffering with severe pms for probably about 6 years or so which is worsening by the month. After three years of trying just about everything my GP could offer he finally referred me to a consultant and within 30 minutes, I’d been diagnosed and had a treatment plan – she was amazing- I’m having my first gnrh injection on Thursday. The longer term outlook is that a hysterectomy is likely but have to have the injections for 6 months first.

If anyone has any words of wisdom id greatly appreciate it! – I’m really nervous but also excited by the prospect at getting some sort of normal life back.

Im amazed how I have held on to my job, that my husband hasn’t walked out and my 7 year old daughter appears quite normal !

From reading some of your posts its nice to know I’m no longer alone

Donna
:P

Offline Profile  

Post subject: Re: HI everyone, I have a feeling im no longer alone
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 10:13 pm 

Hi there Donna and welcome to NAPS.

I used the GnRH injections for over 4 years and LOVED them. The properly sorted out my hormonal issues.

In case you haven't been warned (and it doesn't happen to everyone) the first 2 weeks after the injections can be a bit iffy as there is an "outpouring of hormones" as it starts to get to work. After that, it settles and you get to feel what it's like without the ups and downs of the menstrual cycle - bliss. After that, you may or may not consider HRT to combat the menopause symptoms (caused by the injections) but that's a story for another day.

Hope you get on well with the injections and please let us know how you're doing.